Step Five




The Connecticut Leadership Quality Award (formerlycalled the Connecticut Quality Improvement Award). For all organizations located in Connecticut that are ready to move from the breakthrough to the leadership level in performance excellence and market competitiveness, the CQIA Partnership offers the complete Baldrige process, exactly as experienced by national Baldrige Award winners. This award recognizes demonstrated quality improvement as a strategy for performance excellence. There is no limit to the number of winning organizations. All applicant organizations receive written feedback and a site visit from Baldrige trained Connecticut Quality Improvement Award examiners. Previous winners are Pitney Bowes Business Systems, Northeast Utilities, Perkin-Elmer Instrument Division, IBM Credit Corporation and Willimantic Division of Rogers Corporation.

Step 5 – Connecticut Leadership Quality Award

(Highest level Connecticut Award before the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award for Performance Excellence)

Title: Connecticut Leadership Quality Award

Intent to Apply: Deadline March 15, 2022 along with entry fee. Mail check made payable to Connecticut Quality Improvement Award, PO Box 1396, Stamford, CT 06904-1396

Qualifications: 1) Winning Organization Profile Award and CQIA Innovation Prize winning application at platinum, gold or silver level. 2) Three of your organization’s associates attend the CQIA examiner Baldrige training, as soon as it is available and commit to serving as a CQIA Baldrige trained examiner for three years.

Application Cost: $4,000 includes site visit expenses

Application Deadline: Received by May 27, 2011.

Notification: Confidential notification August 15, 2011. Public notification at CQIA 24th Annual Conference on Quality and Innovation.

Examiner Feedback: Extensive CQIA Examiner written feedback followed by feedback from July 2011 site visit at applicant’s facility.

Criteria: The entire 2011-2012 Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence or Health Care Criteria or Education Criteria. For a complimentary single copy of the criteria, contact Baldrige National Quality Program at (301) 975-2036; Fax: (301) 948-3716; or E-mail:

Number of pages: No more than fifty (50) 8×11 inch typewritten pages in no less than 10-point font size having ½ inch margins on all sides.

Recognition: Distinctive trophy presented at CQIA 24th Annual Conference on Quality and Innovation.

Please contact Sheila Carmine, Founder and Executive Director, Connecticut Quality Improvement Award Partnership at 203 322-9534 or E-mail with any questions you may have regarding Five Steps to the Malcolm BaldrigeNational Quality Award for Performance Excellence.


Hamilton Standard, division of UTC
IBM Credit Corporation
Perkin-Elmer Instrument Division
Pitney Bowes Business Systems
Rogers Corporation

Step Four